Policy, Law, Economics and Politics - Deepening Democracy through Access to Information
This privately-owned website is operated and maintained by Creamer Media
We have detected that the browser you are using is no longer supported. As a result, some content may not display correctly.
We suggest that you upgrade to the latest version of any of the following browsers:
close notification
26 May 2017
Embed Code Close
  Related social media

The African Conference of Ministers Responsible of Science and Technology discussed today among other issues, the progress report on the implementation of Africa’s Science and Technology Consolidated Plan of Action (CPA), African Union decisions on science and technology, international cooperation and programmes proposed by Member States, Regional Economic Communities (RECs), and Regional Organizations.


The AMCOST V elected the following Member States to the Bureau and Steering Committee:

Central Africa:   Republic of Congo- Chair of the Bureau and the Steering Committee

     D.R. Congo: Member of the Steering Committee.

Southern Africa: Namibia: First Vice Chair of the Bureau and Steering Committee

                              Malawi: Member of Steering Committee.

Western Africa:  Nigeria: Second Vice Chair of the Bureau and Steering Committee

                              Niger: Member of the Steering Committee.

Eastern Africa:   Sudan: Third Vice Chair of the Bureau and Steering Committee

                              Ethiopia: Member of the Steering Committee.

Northern Africa: Egypt: Rapporteur of the Bureau and the Steering Committee.

                              Algeria: Member of the Steering Committee.


With regard to Regional Institutions’ Science and Technology Initiatives, AMCOST noted the progress reports on S&T and innovation initiatives being implemented by the REC’s (ECOWAS, SADC, and COMESA) and further requested the RECs to institutionalize STI at regional level and calls upon other regions to engage in the process.  Furthermore, the AMCOST urged the AUC to operationalize the AU Cluster on S&T to ensure synergies and minimize duplication and parallel efforts among the AU implementing partners and called upon the partners to participate actively in the cluster.


Regarding the International Cooperation and Partnerships, AMCOST commended the International Development Partners for their support both financially and technically in promoting the development of science, technology and innovation in the continent and further called for their continued commitment with Africa. AMCOST also called upon Member States and RECs to actively participate in the programmes of the various partnerships.


AMCOST welcomed and endorsed the offer by the Government of the Republic of Namibia to host the Sixth Ordinary Session of AMCOST planned to take place in 2014.


AMCOST expressed its appreciation to the Government and the people of the Republic of Congo, and in particular H.E. President Denis Sassou Nguesso and the hospitality of H.E. Mr. Bruno Jean Richard Itoua, Minister of Scientific Research and Technological Innovation of the Republic of Congo and the incoming Chair.


Finally, AMCOST extended its appreciation to the outgoing Chair, H.E. Prof. Nadia Zakhary, Minister of Scientific Research of the Arab Republic of Egypt and Members of the Bureau and Steering Committee for their able leadership during their tenure of office for AMCOST IV.

Edited by: Creamer Media Reporter
Comment Guidelines (150 word limit)
Online Publishers Association