Safety & Security staff shine at Annual Awards

6th December 2023

Safety & Security staff shine at Annual Awards

Mayoral Committee Member for Safety and Security, Alderman JP Smith with Traffic Service Deputy Chiefs Pamela Mkosi and Andre Nel
Photo by: Supplied

The City’s Safety & Security Directorate hosted its annual awards at the Banqueting Hall in the Civic Centre yesterday, with staff from numerous departments receiving acknowledgement for their contributions in a range of award categories. Read more below:

The Directorate Awards allows up to three nominations per department in various categories, including:

Outstanding Service; Team of the Year; Supervisor of the Year; Department of the Year; awards for Bravery in the uniformed services, and Officer of the Year.

The departmental officers of the year also vie for the coveted Directorate Officer of the Year, and there is also a Department of the Year award, which went to the City’s Traffic Service this year.

‘Ours is an incredibly busy directorate, and the annual awards ceremony offers a brief pause to acknowledge and celebrate some of the milestones and exceptional acts of service over the past year. We applaud the nominees and the winners, but we are also aware that the service standard stretches far deeper than the number of people we are able to accommodate at the ceremony. So I also tip my hat to the many other ambassadors out there, whether in uniform, or working behind the scenes, flying the Safety & Security flag,’ said Mayoral Committee Member for Safety and Security, Alderman JP Smith.

Among the award recipients were:

Metro Police Constable Thandokazi Nkohla who walked away with the Safety and Security Directorate award for Officer of the Year. Among her successes in the last few months, was an arrest of a suspect found in possession of 32 packets of drugs in June, and another arrest in September, where the suspect was found in possession of 50 rounds of ammunition.

Traffic officer, Lungelo Mfenyana received an award for Bravery, for his actions on 26 July 2023, when he thwarted a group of would-be robbers along the N2 near Faure, as they were about to rob a motorist who had stopped along the roadway

Law Enforcement officers, Cynthia Malanjeni and Vernon Elias, were awarded for Bravery, after risking their lives to save two young children from a burning vehicle in Strand in August. 

The Traffic Service’s Highway Patrol Unit won Team of the Year within the Department, while LEAP won Team of the Year within Law Enforcement.

Two Platoon at Epping Fire Station received an award for bravery, after pulling three people from a burning house in Epping on 14 June 2023.


Issued by The City of Cape Town