27 June 2023

GOVERNMENT NOTICES • GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWINGS

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORT

NO. 3607



NOMINEES ELIGIBLE FOR APPOINTMENT AS MEMBERS OF THE TRANSPORT APPEAL TRIBUNAL (TAT)

Transport Appeal Tribunal (TAT) is a creature of statute established in terms of the Transport Appeal Tribunal Act, No. 39 of 1998. Section 12 of the said Act, provides that the Tribunal must consider an appeal noted with in in accordance with the National Land Transport Act, 1998, and the Cross-Border Road Transport Act, 1998; whereupon the Tribunal may-

- i. Reject the appeal and confirm the act, direction or decision appealed against.
- ii. Uphold the appeal, set aside the act, direction or decision appealed against by the appellant, and
- iii. Substitute the act, direction or decision of the relevant body or entity as the case may be with an act or decision it should have performed or given as the case may be or
- iv. Refer the matter back for consideration to the relevant body with recommendations on what should have be the decision or act,
- v. Uphold the appeal partially and vary the act, direction or decision appealed against.

The Transport Appeal Tribunal Act makes provision of the appointment of Tribunal Members for the period of three years for the execution of the provisions of the said Act.

Therefore the purpose of this notice is to inform the public that the persons mentioned below are eligible and being considered for Ministerial appointment as Members of the Tribunal and they are as follows:

Ms. Silochini Pillay, Mr. Matome Boaz Masuku, Adv. Abram Nkemeleng Thantsa, Ms. Portia Chilwane, Adv.Nkhensani Caroline Teffu, Ms. Ntombenhle Priscilla Rikhotso, Mr. Kwena Cuthbert Komape, Mr. Paul Lepekola Samuels, Mr. Wilhelm De Bruyn, Adv. Palesa Naomi Shai, Adv. Motsehoa Brenda Madumise, Mr. Vinay Yatwaru.

Any person or organization wishing to comment on the proposed appointment of the persons mentioned above must forward their comments to : The Director-General, Department of Transport, Private Bag X193, Pretoria, 0001 For the attention of Mr. Khathu Mudau, tel. 012 309 3449, email:Mudauks@dot.gov.za. The Closing date for the comments is 04 July 2923.