GOVERNMENT NOTICES • GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWINGS

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORT

NO. 348 19 MARCH 2020

CANCELLATION OF GAZETTE NO: 42651 OF 19 AUGUST 2019

NOMINEES ELIGIBLE FOR APPOINTMENT AS MEMBERS OF THE TRANSPORT APPEAL TRIBUNAL (TRIBUNAL)

The Transport Appeal Tribunal (TRIBUNAL) is a creature of the statute established in terms of the Transport Appeal Tribunal Act, No. 38 of 1998.

Section 12 of the said Act provides that the Tribunal must consider an appeal noted with it in accordance with the National Land Transport Act, No. 5 of 2009 and Cross-Border Road Transport Act, No. 4 of 1998, whereupon the Tribunal may -

- i. Reject the appeal and confirm the act, direction or decision appealed against or
- ii. Uphold the appeal, set aside the act, direction or decision appealed against and :-
- iii. Substitute therefore any act , direction or decision which the PRE or Regulatory Committee ,as the case may be, could have performed or given or
- iv. Refer the matter which gave rise to the appeal to the PRE or the Regulatory Committee, as the case may be, for reconsideration or
- Uphold the appeal partially and vary the act, direction or decision appealed against.

Consequently, the Transport Appeal Tribunal Act makes provision for the appointment of Tribunal members for the period of three years in order to execute the provisions of the said Act.

Therefore, the purpose of this notice is to inform the public that the following persons are eligible and being considered for Ministerial appointment as members of the Tribunal, namely:-

Adv Lesego Montsho-Moloisane, Ms Ashi Baniparsadh, Mr Steven Serumaga, Mr Trevor Bailey, Ms Silochini Pillay, Mr Nare Thupana, Mr Bheki Dladla, Adv Talenta Chavalala, Ms Sharon Mthetho, Mr Boaz Masuku, Mr Matete Matete, Mr Vincent Ngqeza, Ms Helen Podile and Ms Phumla Ntobe

Any person or organisation wishing to comment on the proposed appointment of the persons mentioned in the above must forward their comments to:

The Director-General, Department of Transport, Private Bag X 193, Pretoria, 0001, for the attention of Adv. MJ Makhaza: Deputy Director – Transport Appeal Tribunal Secretariat Tel: 012 309 3204 / 076 354 1590, Fax: 086 572 9774, E-mail: MakhazaJ@dot.gov.za

Closing date for comments: 27 March 2020