DEPARTMENT OF TRADE AND INDUSTRY

NO. 171

02 MARCH 2018

THE SUGAR INDUSTRY AGREEMENT, 2000

NOTICE UNDER CLAUSE 82 OF THE SUGAR INDUSTRY AGREEMENT, 2000

The South African Sugar Association hereby publishes under clause 82 of the Sugar Industry Agreement, 2000, the varieties of sugarcane, which varieties have been duly approved by the South African Sugar Association for planting during the year commencing 1 April 2018 exclusively in the control areas or part of a control area specified.

COUNCIL OF THE SOUTH AFRICAN SUGAR ASSOCIATION

PEST, DISEASE AND VARIETY CONTROL: 2018/2019 SUGARCANE VARIETIES

CONTROL AREAS	VARIETIES OF SUGARCANE FOR PLANTING EXCLUSIVELY WITHIN EACH CONTROL AREA
Lowveld	N14, N17, N19, N22, N23, N24, CP66/1043, N25, N26, N28, N30, N36, N40, N41, N43, N46, N49, N53 and N57
Pongola	N14, N17, N19, N22, N23, N24, CP66/1043, N25, N26, N28, N30, N36, N40, N41, N43, N46, N49, N53 and N57
Mkuze/Makhatini	N17, N19, N23, N25, N36, N40, N41, N43, N46, N49, N53, N57 and N67
Umfolozi	NCo376, N12, N14, N17, N19, N21, N22, N23, N24, N25, N26, N27, N28, N30, N33, N35, N36, N40, N41, N42, N43, N45, N46, N47, N49, N51, N53, N55, N57, N58, N59, N60, N64, N65 and N67
Felixton	NCo376, N12, N14, N17, N19, N21, N23, N25, N27, N35, N36, N39, N40, N41, N42, N45, N47, N49, N51, N53, N55, N57, N58, N59, N60, N63, N64 N65, N67 and N68
Entumeni	NCo376, N12, N16, N17, N21, N25, N27, N31, N35, N36, N37, N39, N40, N41, N42, N45, N47, N48, N50, N51, N52, N54, N55, N56, N58, N59, N61, N62, N63, N66 and N68
Amatikulu	NCo376, N12, N17, N19, N21, N25, N27, N31, N35, N36, N39, N40, N41, N42, N45, N47, N51, N52, N53, N55, N56, N57, N58, N59, N60, N63, N64, N65, N67 and N68
North Coast	N12, N14, N16, N17, N19, N21, N22, N25, N26, N27, N31, N35, N36, N37, N39, N40, N41, N42, N45, N47, N48, N49, N50, N51, N52, N53, N54, N55, N56, N57, N58, N59, N60, N61, N62, N63, N64, N65, N66, N67 and N68

Midlands North	N12, N16, N21, N23, N25, N26, N27, N31, N35, N36, N37, N39, N40, N41, N42, N43, N45, N47, N48, N49, N50, N51, N52, N53, N54, N55, N60, N61, N62 and N66
Midlands South	N12, N16, N21, N23, N25, N26, N27, N28, N30, N31, N35, N36, N37, N39, N40, N41, N42, N43, N45, N47, N48, N49, N50, N51, N52, N53, N54 N55, N58, N59, N60, N61, N62 and N66
Sezela	NCo376, N12, N16, N21, N27, N31, N36, N37, N39, N40, N41, N42, N45, N47, N48, N50, N51, N52, N53, N54, N55, N56, N58, N59, N60, N61, N62, N63, N64, N65, N66, N67 and N68
Umzimkulu	NCo376, N12, N14, N16, N17, N21, N27, N31, N36, N37, N39, N40, N41, N42, N45, N47, N48, N50, N51, N52, N54, N55, N56, N58, N59, N61, N62, N63, N64, N65, N66, N67 and N68
Du Roi Agritech (Pty) Ltd	N14, N19, N23, N25, N36, N40, N41, N46, N49, N50, N53 and N57

SUGAR INDUSTRY AGREEMENT, 2000 CONTROL AREAS AREAS OF JURISDICTION BY LOCAL MUNICIPALITIES

Lowveld	Mbombela (MP 322) Nkomazi (MP 324) and Umjindi (MP 323).
Pongola	uPhongolo (KZN 262), Umhlabuyalingana (KZN 271); Nongoma (KZN 265) and Jozini (KZN 272), north of the Mduna River.
Mkuze/Makhatini	Umhlabuyalingana (KZN 271), Jozini (KZN 272), uPhongolo (KZN 262), Nongoma (KZN 265) and the Big Five False Bay (KZN 273) the northern boundary being the Mozambique and Swaziland borders, the Jozini dam and south of a line along 31°28'19.8"S up to 27°28'19.8"E. The western boundary being the eastern and southern shores of Jozini dam and the western shore of Jozini dam up to Candover (at the crossing of the R69 - 31°28'19.8"S) then in line with Candover south along 27°28'19.8"E up to the Mduna River. The southern boundary being the Mduna River and along the Mzunduzi River up to 27°47'52.3"S and from there eastwards to the Indian Ocean.
Umfolozi	Hlabisa (KZN 274), The Big Five False Bay (KZN 273), Mtubatuba (KZN 275), Mfolozi (KZN 281), the northern boundary being the Mduna River and along the Mzunduzi River up to 27°47'52.3"S and from there eastwards to the Indian Ocean. The southern boundary is Teza Lake.
Felixton	uMlalazi (KZN 284) north of the Bhadi River and east of the road linking the R102 with the town of Mtunzini, uMhlatuze (KZN 282), Mfolozi (KZN 281) south of Kwambonambi, and Ntambanana (KZN 283).
Amatikulu	uMlalazi (KZN 284), south of the uMlalazi river and Mandeni (KZN 291) north of the Tugela and Nyoni Rivers and west of the R102.
Entumeni	uMlalazi (KZN 284) and Mthonjaneni (KZN 284), including the Eshowe, Entumeni and Melmoth cane supply areas.
North Coast	Mandeni (KZN 291), south of the Tugela and Nyoni Rivers and east of the R102; KwaDukuza (KZN 292), Maphumulo (KZN 294), Umvoti (KZN 245), Ndwedwe (KZN 293) and eThekwini (ETH), east of the N3.
Midlands North	East of the N3 and within the boundaries of Umvoti (KZN 245), Msinga (KZN 244), uMshwathi (KZN 221), Maphumulo (KZN 294), Mkhombathini (KZN 226), the Msunduzi (KZN 225) and uMngeni (KZN 222).

Midlands South	West of the N3 and within the boundaries of Richmond (KZN 227), Mkhombathini (KZN 226), the Msunduzi (KZN 225) and eThekwini (ETH).
Sezela	Ubuhlebezwe (KZN 434), Ingwe (KZN 431), Vulamehlo (KZN 211), eThekwini (ETH) south of the R603, Umdoni (KZN 212), Umzumbe (KZN 213) and Hibiscus Coast (KZN 216) north of the Mzumbe River.
Umzimkulu	Mbizana (EC 443), uMuziwabantu (KZN 214), Ezingoleni (KZN 215) and Hibiscus Coast (KZN 216), south of the Mzumbe River.
Du Roi Agritech (Pty) Ltd	Greater Tzaneen (LIM 333). Sugarcane used for the purposes of propagating NovaCane® tissue culture plant material, single-budded transplant seedcane material or whole-stick seedcane.