## GOVERNMENT NOTICES • GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWINGS

#### **DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY**

NO. 1342

**01 DECEMBER 2017** 

# NOMINATIONS OF CANDIDATES TO SERVE AS PART-TIME REGULATOR MEMBERS FOR THE NATIONAL ENERGY REGULATOR OF SOUTH AFRICA

### (NERSA)

I, Mr D. Mahlobo, MP, Minister of Energy, in terms of section 6(7) of the National Energy Regulator Act, 40 of 2004, hereby invite the nomination of candidates to serve as part-time regulator members of the National Energy Regulator of South Africa.

The copy of the notice calling for nominations is attached hereto, marked as annexure "A".

Mr D. MAHLOBO, MP

MINISTER OF ENERGY

DATE: 2411/2017

#### Annexure A





# NOMINATIONS OF CANDIDATES TO SERVE AS PART-TIME REGULATOR MEMBERS FOR THE NATIONAL ENERGY REGULATOR OF SOUTH AFRICA

#### (NERSA)

The National Energy Regulator of South Africa ("**NERSA**") is a regulatory authority established as a juristic person in terms of Section 3 of the National Energy Regulator Act, 40 of 2004 ("**the NERA**").

#### NERSA's mandate, in terms of Section 4 of the NERA, is to:

- a) perform the functions of the Petroleum Pipelines Regulatory Authority, in accordance with Section 4 of the Petroleum Pipelines Act, 2003 (Act 60 of 2003);
- perform the functions of the National Electricity Regulator, in accordance with Section 4 of the Electricity Regulation Act, 2006 (Act 4 of 2006); and
- c) perform the functions of the Piped-Gas Regulator, in accordance with Section 4 of the Gas Act, 2001 (Act 48 of 2001).

In terms of Section 5 (1) of the NERA, NERSA consists of four (4) Full-Time Regulator Members and five (5) Part-Time Regulator Members all appointed by the Minister of Energy.

In terms of Section 5 (6) (a) and (b) of the NERA Act, a Part-Time Regulator Member holds Office for a period of four (4) years, while a Full-Time Regulator Member holds Office for a period of five (5) years.

The Minister of Energy, Hon. Mr D. Mahlobo, MP, hereby invites nominations for suitable candidates to be appointed as Part-Time Regulator Members of NERSA.

The successful candidates are expected to commence their term of Office on 1 March 2018. However, if you do not hear from the Department of Energy or NERSA within 2 months of the closing date, please accept that your application was unsuccessful.

#### The nominees must:

- a) in accordance with section 6(2)(a) of NERA, collectively possess adequate legal, technical, business, economic or other experience relevant to the electricity, piped-gas or petroleum industries;
- possess a post-graduate academic qualification (minimum) relevant to the mandate of NERSA, detailed above;
- c) be a South African citizen or be the holder of a permit which serves as proof of permanent residence in the Republic of South Africa; and
- d) not be an individual disqualified in terms of Section 6 of the NERA.

Nomination forms (available at <a href="http://www.energy.gov.za">http://www.energy.gov.za</a> — under the heading "Making Headlines" and <a href="http://www.nersa.org.za">http://www.nersa.org.za</a> — under the heading "Careers"), must be accompanied by a comprehensive Curriculum Vitae, and must reach the address cited hereunder, on or before 22 December 2017: The Regulator Secretary, National Energy Regulator of South Africa, P O Box 40343, Arcadia, 0007, marked for the attention of Mr S. Ntanzi, The NERSA Regulator Secretary. Enquiries: Mr L. Ganta, tel. (012) 401 7468 or email <a href="https://www.energy.gov.za">Lloyd.Ganta@energy.gov.za</a>.