GOVERNMENT NOTICES • GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWINGS

DEPARTMENT OF MINERAL RESOURCES

NO. R. 746

NOTICE OF APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS FOR THE MINE HEALTH AND SAFETY COUNCIL REF MHSC 01/04/2017

MHSC Mine Health and Safety Council

The Mine Health and Safety Council (MHSC) was established in terms of the Mine Health and Safety Act (MHSA) by the Mine Health and Safety Act, 1996 (Act No. 29 of 1996), as amended by section 18 of Act 72 of 1997 and as amended by Act 74 of 2008, to advise the Minister of Minerals Resources on Occupational Health and Safety (OHS); legislation and research outcomes focused on improving and promoting OHS in South African mines. In addition to advising the Minister, the MHSC is also tasked to promote a culture of health and safety in the mining industry.

MHSC is a tripartite institution consisting of 15 non-executive members who represent the State, Employers and Organised Labour with the Chief Inspector of Mines as the Chairperson. The MHSC is listed as a Public Entity (Schedule 3A) in accordance with the Public Finance Management Act (PFMA).

The Minister of the Department of Mineral Resources (Honourable Mr. Mosebenzi Joseph Zwane) has appointed the following members to serve on the Mine Health and Safety Council for the period 1 April 2017 to 31 October 2019.

STATE

Mine Health and Safet	y Council (MHSC)
-----------------------	------------------

STATE		
Member	Alternate	
Mr. Mthokozisi Zondi (Chairperson)		
Dr. Lindiwe Ndelu	Dr. Dipalesa Mokoboto	
Mr. Victor Mahwasane	Mr. Funwell Nkuna	
Ms. Constance Titi Kekane	Mr. Gagarin Ndamse	
Mr. Thabo Ngwenya	Ms. Duduzile Lekoba	
ORGANISED LABOUR		
Member	Alternate	
Mr. Mziwakhe Nhlapo	Ms. Penny Baabua	
Mr. Eric Gcilitshana	Mr. William Mataboge	
Mr. Gabriel Nkosi	Mr. Matthew Grant	
Mr. Franz Stehring	Mr. Alwyn van Heerden	
Adv. Paul Mardon	Adv. Hanlie van Vuuren	
EMPLOYERS		
Member	Alternate	
1. Dr. Sizwe Phakathi	Dr. Thuthula Balfour - CoM	
2. Mr. Stuart Sepetla	Mr. Ranganai Chinamatira	
3. Dr. Tumi Legobye	Mr. Mark Munroe	
4. Mr. Peter Temane	Mr. Neale Baartjies	
5. Mr. Indresen Pillay	Mr. Vijay Nundlall	

28 JULY 2017