PROCLAMATIONS • PROKLAMASIES

PROCLAMATION NO. R. 61 OF 2016

BY THE PRESIDENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

ESTABLISHMENT OF THE INTERGOVERNMENTAL COMMITTEE ON DISASTER MANAGEMENT IN TERMS OF THE DISASTER MANAGEMENT ACT, 2002 (ACT NO. 57 OF 2002)

I hereby, in terms of section 4 of the Disaster Management Act, 2002 (Act No. 57 of 2002) (the Act), establish the Intergovernmental Committee on Disaster Management (ICDM) comprising relevant Cabinet members involved in disaster management, Members of the Executive Councils (MEC's) of each province involved in disaster management selected by the Premiers of the province and members of municipal Councils selected by the South African Local Government Association (SALGA).

NOW THEREFORE —

- (a) In terms of section 4(1) of the Act, I hereby recognise the following members of the ICDM.
 - (i) Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs;
 - (ii) Minister of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries;
 - (iii) Minister of Basic Education;
 - (iv) Minister of Defence and Military Veterans;
 - (v) Minister of Energy;
 - (vi) Minister of Environmental Affairs;

- (vii) Minister of Finance;
- (viii) Minister of Health;
- (ix) Minister of Higher Education;
- (x) Minister of Home Affairs;
- (xi) Minister of Human Settlements;
- (xii) Minister of International Relations and Cooperation;
- (xiii) Minister of Mineral Resources;
- (xiv) Minister of Police;
- (xv) Minister in the Presidency;
- (xvi) Minister of Public Works;
- (xvii) Minister of Rural Development and Land Reform;
- (xviii) Minister of Social Development;
- (xix) Minister of Transport;
- (xx) Minister of Water and Sanitation;
- (xxi) MEC for Cooperative Governance as selected by the Premier of the Eastern Cape province;
- (xxii) MEC for Cooperative Governance, Traditional Affairs and Human Settlements as selected by the Premier of the Free State province;
- (xxiii) MEC for Cooperative Governance, Traditional Affairs and Human Settlements as selected by the Premier of the Gauteng province;
- (xxiv) MEC for Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs as selected by the Premier of the KwaZulu-Natal province;
- (xxv) MEC for Cooperative Governance, Human Settlements and Traditional Affairs as selected by the Premier of the Limpopo province;
- (xxvi) MEC for Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs as selected by the Premier of the Mpumalanga province;
- (xxvii) MEC for Local Government and Human Settlements as selected by the Premier of the North West province;

- (xxviii) MEC for Cooperative Governance, Human Settlements and Traditional Affairs as selected by the Premier of the Northern Cape province;
- (xxix) MEC for Local Government, Environmental Affairs and Development Planning as selected by the Premier of the Western Cape province;
- (xxx) Two members of municipal councils selected by the South African Local Government Association (SALGA);
- (b) In terms of section 4(2) read with section 3 of the Act, I take note that the ICDM is chaired by the Cabinet member designated by the President to administer the Act;

Given	under	my	Hand	and	the	Seal	of	the	Republic	of	South	Africa	at
Pren	oriq				on	this	.18	. day	y of Au	gu.	12		

Two Thousand and Sixteen.

PRESIDENT

By Order of the President-in-Cabinet

MINISTER OF THE CABINET