## GOVERNMENT NOTICES • GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWINGS

## **NATIONAL TREASURY**

NO. 1276 14 OCTOBER 2016

- I, Pravin Gordhan, Minister of Finance, acting in terms of section 16(2) and 26(2) of the Division of Revenue Act, 2016 (Act No. 3 of 2016), hereby publish in the attached Explanatory Memorandum and Schedules:
  - (a) The re-allocation of stopped conditional allocations between municipalities in terms of section 19 and 20 of the Division of Revenue Act, 2015, as amended; and
  - (b) The conversion of schedule 5B grant to schedule 6B in terms to section 21 of the Division of Revenue Act, 2016 (Act No. 3 of 2016).

For ease of reference only and where applicable, the attached Schedules reflect the main allocations, roll-overs, adjustments and total adjusted allocations.

PRAVIN GORDHAN, MP MINISTER OF FINANCE

## Explanatory Memorandum to the Allocations set out in the attached schedule

This *Gazette* is published in terms of the Division of Revenue Act, 2016 (Act No. 3 of 2016) and provides information on conversion of allocations, stopping and re-allocation of funds in terms of Section 19, 20 and 21 of the Division of Revenue Act, 2016.

## Stopping and re-allocation of funds between municipalities

- Section 19 of DoRA stipulates that National Treasury may in its discretion or at the request of a transferring officer stop a transfers listed in Schedules 4 and 5 pertaining to anticipated under-spending on programmes or allocations in the financial year by municipalities.
- Following the engagements between the Department of Cooperative Governance (DCoG) and National Treasury, a decision was taken to stop and re-allocate the 2016/17 Municipal Infrastructure Grant allocation (MIG) of Thabazimbi Local Municipality and Makana Local Municipality in terms of section 19 and 20 of the 2016 DoRA.
- The decision to stop 2016/17 MIG for Thabazimbi Local Municipality is informed by consistent under-spending of the municipality against the programme. The allocation will be re-allocated to Waterberg District Municipality to implement the infrastructure projects on behalf of the municipality.
- 4. Makana Local Municipality's 2016/17 MIG allocation is being stopped and re-allocated to Sarah Baartman District Municipality. The re-allocation is done in order to support the municipality with the implementation of infrastructure projects because the municipality had institutional and cash flow challenges that delayed the implementation of infrastructure projects.

### Conversion of the MIG allocations

- 5. Section 21 subsection (1) (a), (b) and (i) of the Division of Revenue Act, 2016 (Act No. 3 of 2016), which states: if satisfied that the conversion will prevent under-expenditure or improve the level of service delivery in respect of the allocation in question National Treasury may convert any portion of an allocation listed in Part B of Schedule 5 to one listed in Part B of Schedule 6.
- 6. By converting MIG allocation from schedule 5B to schedule 6B, the municipality would not run the risk of potentially losing some of their allocated funds through the stopping and reallocation process should they perform poorly during the financial year.
- 7. The 2016/17 MIG allocation for the following municipalities will be converted from schedule 5B to schedule 6B namely; Mopani District Municipality, Mafube Local Municipality and Ngaka Modiri Molema District Municipality. The conversion is informed by amongst others consistent under-spending against the MIG allocation, governance issues that are still not yet resolved, cash flow challenges, backlogs against projects and various interventions measures which have been implemented but proved not to be successful.
- 8. National Treasury in consultation with DCoG made a decision that the 2016/17 MIG allocation must be converted from a schedule 5B to schedule 6B in order to allow the municipalities an opportunity resolve their challenges with the assistance of both the National and provincial departments.

## ANNEXURE 1

# INFRASTRUCTURE GRANT ALLOCATIONS TO MUNICIPALITIES

## (National and Municipal Financial Years)

## Schedule 5B INFRASTRUCTURE GRANT ALLOCATIONS TO MUNICIPALITIES

Department Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (Vote 4)	Municipal Infrastructure Grant				
	Column A	Colu	mn B	Column C	
	2016/17	Roll-overs	Adjustments	2016/17	
	Main allocation	Ron overs	rajustinents	Adjusted allocation	
		Diago	Diago	R'000	
EACTEDN CADE	R'000	R'000	R'000	K 000	
EASTERN CAPE					
P P0101 P0101					
B EC101 EC101	37 623			37 623	
B EC102 Blue Crane Route	13 666			13 666	
B EC104 Makana	36 288		(36 288)		
B EC105 Ndlambe	26 054			26 054	
B EC106 Sundays River Valley	24 446			24 446	
B EC108 Kouga	30 326			30 326	
B EC109 Kou-Kamma	14 694			14 694	
B DC10 Sarah Baartman District Municipality	14074		36 288	36 288	
	192 007		30 200		
Total: Cacadu Municipalities	183 097			183 097	
Total: Eastern Cape Municipalities	2 956 279			2 956 279	
FREE STATE					
B FS201 Moqhaka	38 349			38 349	
B FS203 Ngwathe	40 070			40 070	
B FS204 Metsimaholo	42 623			42 623	
			(21, 422)	42 023	
	21 422		(21 422)		
C DC20 Fezile Dabi District Municipality			(21.122)		
Total: Fezile Dabi Municipalities	142 464		(21 422)	121 042	
Total: Free State Municipalities	713 423		(21 422)	692 001	
			, ,		
LIMPOPO					
B LIM331 Greater Giyani	57 902			57 902	
B LIM332 Greater Letaba	54 976			54 976	
B LIM333 Greater Tzaneen	89 797			89 797	
B LIM334 Ba-Phalaborwa	30 568			30 568	
B LIM335 Maruleng	25 418		4.50.000	25 418	
C DC33 Mopani District Municipality	438 907		(150 000)	288 907	
Total: Mopani Municipalities	697 568		(150 000)	547 568	
B LIM361 Thabazimbi	28 714		(20.714)		
			(28 714)	26.255	
B LIM362 Lephalale	36 355			36 355	
B LIM366 Bela-Bela	22 571			22 571	
B LIM367 Mogalakwena	139 486			139 486	
B LIM368 LIM368	36 255			36 255	
B DC36 Waterberg District Municipality			28 714	28 714	
Total: Waterberg Municipalities	263 381			263 381	
Total: Limpopo Municipalities	3 126 953		(150 000)	2 976 953	
NORTH WEST					
D NW291 Patlon	42.050			42.050	
B NW381 Ratlou	43 059			43 059	
B NW382 Tswaing	27 939			27 939	
B NW383 Mafikeng	70 417			70 417	
B NW384 Ditsobotla	34 875			34 875	
B NW385 Ramotshere Moiloa	35 460			35 460	
C DC38 Ngaka Modiri Molema District Municipality	290 197		(290 197)		
Total: Ngaka Modiri Molema Municipalities	501 947		(290 197)	211 750	
Total: North West Municipalities	1 654 349		(290 197)	1 364 152	
National Total	14 914 028		(461 619)	14 452 409	

## **ANNEXURE 2**

# ALLOCATIONS-IN-KIND TO MUNICIPALITIES

(National and Municipal Financial Years)

## Schedule 6B ALLOCATIONS-IN-KIND TO MUNICIPALITIES

Department Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (Vote 4)	Municipal Infrastructure Grant			
	Column A Colum		mn R	Column C
	2016/17	Roll-overs	Adjustments	2016/17 Adjusted allocation
	Main allocation	iton overs	rujustments	
	R'000	R'000	R'000	R'000
FREE STATE	K 000	K 000	K 000	K 000
B FS201 Moqhaka				
B FS203 Ngwathe				
B FS204 Metsimaholo				
B FS205 Mafube			21 422	21 422
C DC20 Fezile Dabi District Municipality				
Total: Fezile Dabi Municipalities			21 422	21 422
Total: Free State Municipalities			21 422	21 422
Total: Free State Municipanties			21 422	21 422
LIMPOPO				
B LIM331 Greater Giyani				
B LIM332 Greater Letaba				
B LIM333 Greater Tzaneen				
B LIM334 Ba-Phalaborwa				
B LIM335 Maruleng				
C DC33 Mopani District Municipality			150 000	150 000
Total: Mopani Municipalities			150 000	150 000
•				
Total: Limpopo Municipalities			150 000	150 000
NORTH WEST				
B NW381 Ratlou				
B NW382 Tswaing				
B NW383 Mafikeng				
B NW384 Ditsobotla				
B NW385 Ramotshere Moiloa				
C DC38 Ngaka Modiri Molema District Municipality			290 197	290 197
Total: Ngaka Modiri Molema Municipalities			290 197	290 197
Total: North West Municipalities			290 197	290 197
Total. Profite west Municipanties			290 197	290 197
National Total			461 619	461 619