ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT

NO. 692

10 JUNE 2016

APPOINTMENT OF A COMMITTEE

- By virtue of the powers vested in me in terms of section 14 of the International Trade Administration Act, 2002 (Act No. 71 of 2002), and pursuant to a request from the International Trade Administration Commission (the Commission), I, Ebrahim Patel, Minister of Economic Development, establish a committee of the Commission comprising the members listed below to monitor and make recommendations to the Commission in respect of:
- 1.1 the impact of the changes in import tariffs applicable to the primary steel industry on:
- 1.1.1 downstream users in the steel industry;
- 1.1.2 the pricing of the products of producers in the primary steel industry to downstream users; and
- 1.1.3 the steel industry generally;
- 1.2 the commitments made by applicants for such changes in import tariffs and their impact on job creation and job retention, industrial output, investments in plant, equipment, skills, research, development, technology and economic investments;
- 1.3 jobs in the full steel industry value chain;
- 1.4 import and export trends in the steel industry value chain.
- The committee shall be established for a period of five (5) years from the date of the notice and shall comprise the individual members referred to below who are appointed for a period of 12 (twelve) months.

	ITAC COMMISSIONERS	ADDITIONAL PERSONS
1.	Ms Tanya van Meelis (Chairperson)	Mr Johann Nel, South African Iron and Steel Institute (SAISI)
2.	Mr Henk Langenhoven	Mr Paolo Trinchero, Southern African Institute of Steel Construction (SAISC)
3.	Ms Boipuso Modise	Mr Gehard Papenfus, National Employers' Association of South Africa (NEASA)
4.	Mr Etienne Vlok	Mr Tafadzwa Chibanguza, Steel and Engineering Industries Federation of Southern Africa (SEIFSA)
5.	Mr Boikanyo Mokgatle	Mr Neels van Niekerk – International Steel Fabricators (ISF)

	ITAC COMMISSIONERS	ADDITIONAL PERSONS
6.	Ms Grathel Motau	Mr Dean Subramanian, ArcelorMittal South
		Africa Limited (AMSA)
7.	Ambassador Faizel Ismail	Mr Raghu Ram South African Coil Coaters
		Association (SACCA)

3. The committee shall report to the Commission at least biannually.

4. The committee shall meet together for the despatch of business, adjourn and otherwise regulate their meetings as they think fit.

Umerfrage

EBRAHIM PATEL MINISTER OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 27 | 5 | 2016