GOVERNMENT NOTICES • GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWINGS

DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION AND TRAINING

NO. 249

11 MARCH 2016

NATIONAL QUALIFICATIONS FRAMEWORK ACT, 2008 (ACT NO. 67 OF 2008)

APPOINTMENT OF THE SOUTH AFRICAN QUALIFICATIONS AUTHORITY (SAQA) BOARD FOR THE PERIOD 1 JANUARY 2016 TO 31 DECEMBER 2020

The National Qualifications Framework (NQF) Act, 2008(Act No. 67 of 2008) provides that the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA) continues as a juristic person to oversee the further development and implementation of the NQF. SAQA is accountable to the Minister of Higher Education and Training. The functions of which are set out in detail at section 13 of the NQF Act.

SAQA is governed by a board. The current SAQA board was appointed in terms of the NQF Act, 2008. Its term of office came to an end on 31 December 2015.

I am required to appoint twelve (12) members, from the nomination process, in such a manner as to ensure, in so far as practically possible, that functions of SAQA are performed according to the highest professional standards provided that at least two members must be appointed from the nominations made by organised labour. I must give due attention to the representivity of the board in terms of such factors as race, gender and disability.

Section 14 of the NQF Act provides that the members of the SAQA board, taken as a whole, must:

- a) Be broadly representative of the education and training sectors and related interests;
- b) Have thorough knowledge and understanding of education and training;
- c) Appreciate the role of education and training in the reconstruction and transformation of the South African economy and society;
- d) Have known and attested commitment to the interests of education and training;

- e) Have knowledge and understanding of qualifications matters and quality assurance in education and training; and
- f) Be competent to undertake the governance and oversee the financial affairs of the SAQA.

The Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the SAQA and the CEOs of the Quality Councils (QCs); Council on Higher Education (CHE), Quality Council for Trades and Occupations (QCTO) and Umalusi are also members of the SAQA Board by virtue of their offices.

Thirty two (32) nominations were received in response to my public calls for nominations. I express my gratitude to all who took the trouble to nominate candidates or to make themselves available for appointment.

After careful consideration, taking into account the requirements of the NQF Act, I have appointed the members whose names appear in the **Schedule**.

The new board is appointed from 1 January 2016 and will serve until 31 December 2020.

I appoint Dr Vuyelwa Toni Penxa as the Chairperson of the SAQA Board and express my appreciation to the new Chairperson and the other members to the SAQA Board for their willingness to undertake the stewardship of this vital national institution.

DR BE NZIMANDE, MP

MINISTER OF HIGHER EDUCATION AND TRAINING

DATE: 18/02/2016

SCHEDULE

Members of the Board of the South African Qualifications Authority, to serve from 1 January 2016 to 31 December 2020:

- 1. Dr Vuyelwa Toni Penxa (Chairperson)
- 2. Professor Talvin Gregory Schultz
- 3. Dr Shamrita Devi Bhika
- 4. Mr Bonisile Gantile
- 5. Mr Edward de Klerk
- 6. Professor Jerry O Kuye
- 7. Mr Gordon Choaro Louw
- 8. Ms Priscilla Lynnette Fundisile Nzimande
- 9. Ms Anne Kathleen Oberholzer
- 10. Professor Sarah Howie
- 11. Ms Nadia Starr
- 12. Mr Francis Malesela Maleka