# GOVERNMENT NOTICE

#### DEPARTMENT OF COOPERATIVE GOVERNANCE

No. 712 9 September 2014

# FORMULAE FOR DETERMINATION OF THE NUMBER OF COUNCILLORS OF MUNICIPAL COUNCILS

I, Pravin Jamnadas Gordhan, Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, in terms of section 20 of the Local Government: Municipal Structures Act, 1998 (Act No. 117 of 1998), hereby publish the formulae for the determination of the number of councillors. The formulae are set out in the Schedule herein.

Given under my hand at Pretoria on the Ninth day of September Two Thousand and Fourteen.

## P J GORDHAN, MP

#### MINISTER OF COOPERATIVE GOVERNANCE AND TRADITIONAL AFFAIRS

#### **SCHEDULE**

- 1. Formula for determination of number of councillors for category A municipalities.
- 2. Formula for determination of number of councillors for category B municipalities.
- 3. Formula for determination of number of councillors for category C municipalities

#### Formula for determination of number of councillors for category A municipalities

1. The formula for determining the number of councillors of a category A municipality is as follows (fractions to be disregarded):

$$y = (x \div 10\ 000) + 50$$

Where -

- (i) y represents the number of councillors; and
- (ii) x represents the number of registered voters on the municipality's segment of the national common voters roll on 5 March 2014.

## Formula for determination of number of councillors for category B municipalities

- 2.(a) The formula for determining the number of councillors of a category B municipality is
  - (i) in respect of such a municipality that has less than 7 501 registered voters on its segment of the national common voters roll:

$$y = 5;$$

(ii) in respect of such a municipality that has between 7 500 and 100 001 registered voters on its segment of the national common voters roll:

$$y = (x \div 2 \ 055) + 2$$
; and

(iii) in respect of such a municipality that has more than 100 000 registered voters on its segment of the national common voters roll:

$$y = (x \div 8 \ 333) + 48.$$

- (b) In applying the formulae referred to in paragraph (a)-
  - (i) y represents the number of councillors;
  - (ii) x represents the number of registered voters on the municipality's segment of the national common voters roll on 5 March 2014; and
  - (iii) fractions are to be disregarded.

# Formula for determination of number of councillors for category C municipalities

- 3.(a) The formula for determining the number of councillors of a category C municipality is -
  - (i) in respect of such a municipality that has less than 100 001 registered voters on its segment of the national common voters roll:

$$y = (x \div 10\ 000) + 10$$
; and

(ii) in respect of such a municipality that has more than 100 000 registered voters on its segment of the national common voters roll:

$$y = (x \div 15\ 000) + 15.$$

- (b) In applying the formulae referred to in paragraph (a)
  - (i) y represents the number of councillors;
  - (ii) x represents the number of registered voters on the municipality's segment of the national common voters roll on 5 March 2014; and
  - (iii) fractions are to be disregarded.