GENERAL NOTICE ALGEMENE KENNISGEWING

NOTICE 1490 OF 2008

MUNICIPAL DEMARCATION BOARD

REQUEST IN TERMS OF SECTION 22 OF THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT: MUNICIPAL DEMARCATION ACT, 1998 (ACT NO. 27 OF 1998) FOR THE RE-DETERMINATION OF THE MUNICIPAL BOUNDARIES OF WEST RAND DISTRICT MUNICIPALITY (DC48) AND KENNETH KAUNDA DISTRICT MUNICIPALITY (DC40)

(Gauteng/North West)

In terms of Section 22 of the Local Government: Municipal Demarcation Act, 1998 (Act No. 27 Of 1998), the Minister of Provincial and Local Government has requested the Municipal Demarcation Board to re-determine the boundaries of West Rand District Municipality (DC48) and Kenneth Kaunda District Municipality (DC40) by excluding Merafong City Local Municipality from the municipal area of Kenneth Kaunda District Municipality (DC40), and by including Merafong City into the municipal area of West Rand District Municipality (DC40).

The relevant maps are hereby published to reflect the request received from the Minister.

The Board will soon be publishing a notice in terms of section 26 of the Demarcation Act, 1998, in the media to invite public views and representation on this matter.

The re-determination of the municipal boundaries, is subject to an amendment of the Constitution of the Republic to exclude Merafong City from the geographic area of North West Province, and to include it into the geographic area of Gauteng Province.

VUYO MLOKOTI CHAIRPERSON: MUNICIPAL DEMARCATION BOARD

