

No. R. 1248

28 November 2008

HEALTH PROFESSIONS ACT, 1974 (ACT NO. 56 OF 1974)

REGULATIONS RELATING TO THE CONSTITUTION OF THE PROFESSIONAL BOARD FOR RADIOGRAPHY AND CLINICAL TECHNOLOGY

The Minister of Health has, in terms of section 15 of the Health Professions Act, 1974 (Act No. 56 of 1974) as amended by Act 29 of 2007, and on the recommendation of the Health Professions Council of South Africa, made the regulations in the Schedule.

SCHEDULE

Definitions

1. In these regulations "the Act" means the Health Professions Act, 1974 (Act No. 56 of 1974) as amended by Act No.29 of 2007, and any expression to which a meaning has been assigned in the Act shall bear such meaning and, unless the context indicates otherwise -

"board" means the Professional Board for Radiography and Clinical Technology established in terms of section 15 of the Act;

"designated groups" means black people, women and persons with disabilities who, for the purposes of these regulations, shall be protected and advanced in the following order of the levels of disadvantage of the past, which must be taken into consideration in the appointment process:

- (a) women;
- (b) men of African, Asian or coloured descent; and
- (c) disabled persons, irrespective of descent; and

Constitution of the board

2. The board shall consist of the following 13 members who permanently reside in South Africa:



[&]quot;section" means a section of the Act.



- (a) five radiographers, of whom at least four shall be from designated groups, who shall be appointed by the Minister on the basis of nominations by persons with registered postal addresses in the Republic and whose names appear in the registers of
 - (i) radiographers;
 - (ii) assistant radiographers;
 - (iii) supplementary diagnostic radiographers;
 - (iv) restricted supplementary diagnostic radiographers;
 - (v) radiation laboratory technologists; or
 - (vi) supplementary radiation technologists;
- (b) three graduate clinical technologists, of whom at least two shall be from designated groups, who shall be appointed by the Minister on the basis of nominations by persons with registered postal addresses in the Republic and whose names appear in the registers of -
 - (i) graduate clinical technologists;
 - (i) clinical technologists;
 - (iii) supplementary clinical technologists;
 - (iv) assistant clinical technologists;
 - (v) electro-encephalographic technicians; or
 - (vi) supplementary electro-encephalographic technicians
- (c) one person registered with the board, who shall be appointed by the Higher Education South Africa (HESA) to represent educational institutions accredited by the board;
- (d) one person representing the department of health, who shall be appointed by the Minister; and
- (e) three community representatives, who shall be appointed by the Minister.

Repeal

 The Regulations relating to the Constitution of a Professional Board for Radiography and Clinical Technology published under Government Notice No. R. 1067 of 28 July 2003 are hereby repealed.

MINISTER OF HEALTH

DATE: 30/10/2008

