

## **Government Gazette**

Vol. 406, No. 19934, 8 April 1999

**GENERAL NOTICE** 

Notice 548 of 1999

## ELECTORAL COMMISSION

## REGIONAL SEATS RESERVED FOR NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

The Electoral Commission has in terms of Item 2 of the Interim Constitution, 1993, as amended by the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996, determined the fixed number of seats reserved for each region for the next election of the National Assembly, after taking into account scientifically based data in respect of the voting population and representations by interested parties, as follows:

PROVINCE	NUMBER OF REGIONAL SEATS					
Eastem Cape	27					
Free State	14					
Gauteng	46					
KwaZulu-Natal	38					
Mpumalanga	14					
Northem Cape	4					
Northem Province	20					
North-West	17					
Western Cape	20					
TOTAL	200					

Province	Population Census	Populatoin Actual	# Registered	% Registered Census	% Registered Actual
Eastem Cape	3,847,809	3,233,152	2,483,950	64.55	76.83
Free State	1,735,144	1,516,405	1,237,125	71.3	81.58
Gauteng	5,571,476	4,687,061	4,208,663	75.54	89.79
Kwazulu Natal	5,503,376	4,686,503	3,469,998	63.05	74.04
Mpumalanga	1,691,029	1,544,822	1,290,171	76.3	83.52
Northern Cape	542,169	480,433	380,183	70.12	79.13
Northern Province	2,695,677	2,410,714	1,872,099	69.45	77.66
North West Province	2,177,452	1,895,069	1,536,860	70.58	81.1





Western Cape	2,784,823	2,317,030	1,862,804	66.89	80.4
Total	26,548,955	22,771,189	18,341,853	69.09	80.55

