

## **Government Gazette**

Vol. 405, No. 19865, 19 March 1999

**GENERAL NOTICE** 

Notice 453 of 1999

## **ELECTORAL COMMISSION**

## DETERMINATION OF THE NUMBER OF SEATS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY AND PROVINCIAL LEGISLATURES

The following determination made by the Electoral Commission on 17 March 1999 at Pretoria is hereby published in terms of Item 4 of Schedule 3 to the Electoral Act, 1998 (Act No. 73 of 1998):

Having taken into account available scientifically based data and having considered all the representations made by interested parties, the determination is made as follows:

The number of seats for the National Assembly is determined to be 400.

The number of seats of the provincial legislatures are determined as follows:

Province	Seats
National Assembly	400
Eastern Cape	63
Free State	30
Gauteng	73
KwaZulu-Natal	80
Mpumalanga	30
Northern Cape	30
Northern Province	49
North West	33
Western Cape	39

