Deepening Democracy through Access to Information
Home / Statements RSS ← Back
Expertise|Finance|Journalism|Parliamentary Communication Services|South African Broadcasting Corporation|Finance|Human Resource Management|Services|Bongumusa Makhathini|Cikizwa Dingi|Dawn Earp|Deenadaylen Konar|Desmond Golding|Dinkwanyane Mohuba|Febbe Potgieter-Gqubule|Harriet Meier|Humphrey Maxegwana|Jack Devnarian|Jack Phahlane|Jim Matsho|John Matisonn|John Mattison|Khanyisile Kweyama|Krish Naidoo|Kwanele Gumbi|Leanne Govindsamy|Louise Vale|Manaka Mathumo|Mathata Tsedu|Mathatha Godfrey Tsedu|Mcebo Khumalo|Michael Bauer|Michael Markovitz|Nkosana Mbokane|Nomvuyiso Batyi|Rachel Kalidass|Rufus Dzuguda Kharidzha|Sandile Kama|Seipati Khumalo|Thabiso Ratsomo|Thembinkosi Ngoma|Thidziambi Nethengwe|Tshifhiwa Khorommbi|Victor Rambau|William Currie|Yaasir Haffejee

Email this article

separate emails by commas, maximum limit of 4 addresses

Verification Image. Please refresh the page if you cannot see this image.

Sponsored by


Article Enquiry

SA: Communications Committee shortlist 36 candidates to fill 12 non-executive SABC Board vacancies

Verification Image. Please refresh the page if you cannot see this image.

Embed Video

SA: Communications Committee shortlist 36 candidates to fill 12 non-executive SABC Board vacancies

22nd August 2017


Font size: -+

The Portfolio Committee on Communications has finalised the shortlist of 36 candidates to fill all the 12 non-executive vacancies on the Board of the South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC).

The Committee has unanimously agreed to shortlist all the five current Interim Board members, namely Mr Mathata Tsedu, Ms Khanyisile Kweyama, Ms Febbe Potgieter-Gqubule, Mr John Mattison and Mr Krish Naidoo.


The rest of the candidates are: Mr Mathatha Godfrey Tsedu; Mr Krish Naidoo; Ms Khanyisile Kweyama, Mr John Matisonn; Mrs Febbe Potgieter-Gqubule; Ms Nomvuyiso Batyi; Ms Rachel Kalidass; Mr Thabiso Ratsomo; Mr Rufus Dzuguda Kharidzha; Mr Michael Markovitz; Mr William Currie; Mr Sandile Kama; Dr Deenadaylen Konar; Ms Harriet Meier; Ms Dawn Earp; Mr Michael Bauer; Judge Chris Greenland; Mr Desmond Golding; Mr Manaka Mathumo; Mr Victor Rambau; , Mr Tshifhiwa  Khorommbi; Mr Mcebo Khumalo; Ms Seipati Khumalo; Dr Thidziambi Nethengwe; Ms Cikizwa Dingi; Ms Louise Vale; Mr Yaasir Haffejee; Mr Kwanele Gumbi; Mr Jack Devnarian; Mr Bongumusa Makhathini; Mr Nkosana Mbokane; Mr Michael Sass; Mr Jim Matsho; Mr Jack Phahlane; Mr Dinkwanyane Mohuba and Ms Leanne Govindsamy.

The Committee will conduct interviews from 30 August to 1 September 2017.


“We are confident that all the shortlisted candidates meet the required skills and expertise in the field of corporate governance, finance and human resource management, Journalism and legal. We are also happy with both gender and racial representation,” said Mr Humphrey Maxegwana, Chairperson of the Committee.

Members of the public have five working days to comment on the names. Comments should be directed to the Committee Secretary, Mr Thembinkosi Ngoma, on Second Floor, 90 Plain Street, Cape Town, 8000 or on email: He can be contacted on 021 403 3733 / 083 709 8407 for more information.


Issued by Parliamentary Communication Services on behalf of the Chairperson of the Portfolio Committee on Communications, Humphrey Maxegwana


To subscribe email or click here
To advertise email or click here

Comment Guidelines

About is a product of Creamer Media.

Other Creamer Media Products include:
Engineering News
Mining Weekly
Research Channel Africa

Read more


We offer a variety of subscriptions to our Magazine, Website, PDF Reports and our photo library.

Subscriptions are available via the Creamer Media Store.

View store


Advertising on is an effective way to build and consolidate a company's profile among clients and prospective clients. Email

View options
Free daily email newsletter Register Now